Inside news
Dutch Championships in Almere without Olympians

Dutch Championships in Almere without Olympians

1 Oct 2016 20:50
Menno Lesterhuis

At the Dutch Championships held in Almere for the first time in history, Sam van ‘t Westende won his fourth national title in his sixth consecutive final, and all U73kg. Van ‘t Westende defeated junior Kevin Bakker in the final, who won his first senior national medal but couldn’t get out of the oseikomi of van ‘t Westende.

An interesting final was between European Junior Champion Tornike Tsjakadoea and Mathijs van Harten in the category U60kg. This time it was again Tsjakadoea who finished higher on the stage and Van Harten due to a penalty for Van Harten, who had to deal with his second silver medal in a row. Last year he lost to Bas Koffijberg who this time lost his two bouts and lost his title to Tsjakadoea. The 19-year old was the youngest male winner.

Roy Schipper, also still a junior, won the category U66kg. In the final he didn’t have to fight Twan van der Werff, who won silver but picked up an injury. Last year Schipper won bronze when Junior Degen won the title, who lost twice today.

Lightweight Kim Akker prolonged her title. In the final Akker defeated 15-year old Bo Goedhart. The category U52kg was a victory for Danique Jansen, another youngster of 16 years. Jansen was the second youngest winner ever in this category. The youngest was Marjolein van Dommelen in 1986.

The category U57kg is also competitive in Holland with a good final between Dewy Karthaus and Marrgiet Bergstra, won by Karthaus who took her first title. Karthaus is the sixth of different women who won the title over the last six editions. Karthaus takes over the title of Olympian Sanne Verhagen.

Sanne Vermeer is in a great shape and won her first senior title for the fresh European Junior Champion. Another great victory for the 18-year rookie who won the World Cadet title last year in Sarajevo. Vermeer defeated the experienced Jennifer Wichers by ippon. Wicher who won silver just like last year when Juul Franssen won the title. None of the Rio participants competes at this national championship. Wichers won the title in 2013. This competitive category had seven different national champions over the last seven editions. Anicka van Emden was the last to win the title three times in a row in 2009. Van Emden won Olympic bronze in this category.

Tomorrow the remaining seven categories are in action in Almere.

More judo info than you can analyse 24/7! Share your results with your judo network. Become an insider!